• de
  • en
  • Public Offering

    Lexicon

    adversarial learning

    Besides defensive distillation, one of the techniques for defending against adversarial attacks on AI systems is adversarial learning (adversarial training). There is currently no other way to defend against such attacks with so-called “adversarial examples”. (more…)

    AI

    Artificial Intelligence stands for the description of the technologies used (see Machine Learning). The term AI is primarily a marketing term. The models generated by machine learning are not actually intelligent, but solve narrowly defined problems using complex statistical calculations.

    (more…)

    annotation

    An annotation is a short note or comment added to a text, image or another document. In linguistics, this is mostly manual extraction of certain features of natural language in texts. Example: determining the gender of proper names by marking individual names in texts with labels such as female, diverse, neutral, etc.

    (more…)

    automatic text generation

    Automatic text generation software is increasingly used to create content for websites and other online applications. This software often uses a combination of machine learning and linguistic algorithms to create text that matches a specific pattern or template. This requires structured data

    classification

    Classification describes the task of assigning a data object to one of several previously defined classes. Example: assigning a text to a genre based on its content.

    clustering

    The grouping of data: data within a group should be similar to each other, data in different groups should be different. Such a group is called a cluster. Example: a lot of international soccer clubs can be clustered according to their membership in a national league.

    computational linguistics

    Computational linguistics is the interface between computer science and linguistics. Natural languages (both text and audio) should be processed using computers, such as speech recognition and synthesis, machine translation, and dialog systems.

    contentmarketing

    Content marketing is a strategic approach to creating and distributing valuable and relevant content to attract and retain users. The goal is to generate new Internet users and retain existing users. Content marketing is thus a tool for increasing traffic. The content can have different formats, e.g. in the form of blog articles on one’s own website, in videos, podcasts or infographics.

    corpus

    A collection of texts that usually has a context in terms of content or structure. For example, a corpus may consist of texts from one source.

    crawler

    A crawler is a program that extracts data from a web page and writes these into a database.

    dashboard

    Interactive visualization of data. Example: the user can change the time period of the displayed data or zoom into a diagram to view something in more detail.

    data mining

    Data mining refers to the computer-aided evaluation and analysis of large volumes of data with the aim of gaining new insights. Automated procedures for pattern recognition, methods from the field of artificial intelligence, statistics and data analysis are used.

    deep learning

    Deep learning (DL) is a branch of artificial intelligence and a machine learning (ML) technique based on artificial neural networks. Deep learning algorithms use multiple layers (hence the name) to process and analyse information. This can be used for tasks such as image and speech recognition and natural language processing. In other words, for processes that humans perform intuitively and that cannot be calculated using formulae. The necessary complexity is achieved using a digital layer model. In DL complex learning effects – and decisions based on them – are based on the combination of many small, simple decisions and learning effects.

    Deep learning has greatly improved the results of machine learning in many areas, but it is also much more resource-intensive than non-deep ML methods, i.e. single-layer neural networks, or other algorithms that do not require neural networks at all. (more…)

    defensive distillation

    Defensive distillation is an adversarial training technique used in the field of machine learning, specifically in the context of deep learning. The technique protects neural networks from adversarial attacks and makes an algorithm’s classification process more flexible so the model is less vulnerable to exploitation. (more…)

    entity extraction

    Entity extraction or entity recognition is a process in which individual, uniquely identifiable entities such as people, places, things, terms, etc. are extracted from unstructured or semi-structured digital data and stored in a machine-readable format.

    GPT-2

    Common model (pretrained) for text generation developed by OpenAI. GPT-2 is open source.

    GPT-3

    Further development of GPT-2 (see above). Both models use approximately the same architecture, but GPT-3 has more layers (see neural network) and has been trained with more data.

    GPU

    Graphics Processing Unit / Graphics Card. Graphics cards offer very high computing power and are therefore used for training deep learning models.

    language models

    There are language models for all areas of computational linguistics. Besides text generation, these are for example speech recognition, handwriting recognition, information recognition and extraction.

    The following types of language models are used by Ella:

    Sequence-to-sequence language model: This is a type of model used in natural language processing (NLP) where the input and output are both sequences of words or tokens. It’s commonly used for tasks like machine translation, where the model takes a sequence in one language and generates a sequence in another language.

    BERT-Variant language model: BERT stands for “Bidirectional Encoder Representations from Transformers”. A BERT-variant language model is a model that is based on the BERT architecture but might have some modifications or improvements, such as different training data, model size, or downstream task fine-tuning.

    Large language model (LLM): This refers to a type of neural network-based language model that is designed to understand and generate human language. “Large” indicates that the model has a high number of parameters (weights and connections) in its architecture. These models are capable of performing a wide range of NLP tasks and often require significant computational resources for training and inference.

    machine learning

    Machine learning refers to a process in which computers learn on their own without being programmed to do so for each use case. These are technologies in which computer programs process a large number of examples, derive patterns and apply them to new data points. In the process, a statistical model is built from the examples to build language, for instance. Deep learning is a variant of machine learning. AI is a buzzword for Machine Learning.

    metric

    Predefined measurement value to indicate quality in relation to a specific criterion.

    model architecture

    The sequence of all procedures used to build the model. Neural networks are usually described by the number and function of their layers. A model is created from the combination of architecture and corpus.

    morphology

    Morphology means the study of forms and is a branch of linguistics. It is the science of the change of word forms in a language. Words are not fixed entities and can change their form. Depending on the context, for example, write becomes writes or run becomes runs.

    Named Entity Recognition (NER)

    The automatic detection and labeling of proper names (entities) in texts. Example: Angela Merkel and Frau Merkel refer to the same person in two sentences.

    Natural Language Generation (NLG)

    Natural Language Generation. The generation of text (natural language) using machine learning.

    Natural Language Processing (NLP)

    Natural Language Processing deals with the automatic processing of natural language. Methods from computational linguistics, artificial intelligence and statistics are used to recognize, understand, interpret and generate language. This knowledge can then be used, for example, to translate or rewrite texts.

    Natural Language Understanding (NLU)

    Natural Language Understanding describes the ability of machines to understand natural language. This includes both reading and writing natural language and analyzing meaning and context.

    neural networks

    Neural networks are artificial intelligence models modeled on the human brain. They consist of a series of processing units that are interconnected.

    An artificial neural network consists of layers of interconnected units (neurons) that pass information to each other under certain conditions. Each unit processes a specific signal and passes it on to the next unit. The network learns by processing signals and adjusting the connections between units.

    In Deep Learning, there are usually many such layers, each with a very large number of neurons, which makes training very computationally intensive.

    normalization of texts

    Normalization of texts describes the standardization of text structure and punctuation. For example, all quotation marks and dashes are normalized to one character each, as are section markers such as lines or markers for chapter headings.

    ontology

    In computer science, ontology is the formalization of a field of knowledge to describe complex facts in a machine-readable form. In doing so, a certain structure of objects and their relationships is specified so that computer software can process them. Ontologies are used in computer science mainly for semantic procedures. Here, one is attempting to extract and to model knowledge from an unstructured data stock with the help of machine learning procedures. This way, complex inquiries can for example also be made to a data stock.

    preprocessing

    Before a corpus can be passed to AI for training, some preprocessing steps have to be performed. Unwanted content, for example, is removed, normalizations are performed, and texts are adapted to model specifics. If for instance a model has only learned one type of quotation marks in pretraining, these quotation marks should be the same in the training corpus for finetuning, so that they are recognized correctly right away.

    pretraining, pretrained model

    The initial training of a model. Pretraining involves passing very large amounts of data to build a robust statistical model of language and knowledge.

    recommender systems

    A model that suggests additional items based on the user behavior of similar users. Example: ‘Users who viewed this item also viewed the following other items…’

    reinforcement learning

    Reinforcement learning (RL) is a machine learning training method based on rewarding desired behaviours and punishing undesired ones. “Reward” and “punishment” are to be understood in this context as merely numerical values which help the algorithm to find the “best” way to a solution. This approach allows an agent to learn to navigate the complex demands of the specific environment for which it was created so that over time, the agent optimises its behaviours. (more…)

    robotic journalism

    Robotic journalism is a form of journalism that uses computer-controlled programs to create journalistic content. This content can be news reports, sports scores, weather reports, financial reports, stock market reports, and other forms of journalism.

    search engine marketing (sem)

    Search engine marketing (SEM) is one of the most important types of online marketing. It can be divided into search engine advertising (SEA). Here, advertisers pay for their own website to be listed above other websites. This paid advertising is displayed, for example, on Google in special areas on the search results page (SERP – Search Engine Result Page) and marked as such. Another method is search engine optimization (SEO or Search Engine Optimization). Here, one is trying to get one’s own Internet presence displayed as high up as possible in the organic search results.

    statistical model

    A statistical model makes predictions about input data based on learned patterns. Language models, for example, predict the next word in an input sentence. A model has an architecture and must be trained to build the statistical model.

    text mining

    Text mining is data mining specifically for written data in natural language. The text mining process involves the use of algorithms and methods to extract valuable information from unstructured or semi-structured text data, identify new patterns, confirm existing patterns, or make predictions. The insights gained can be applied in many fields, such as science, marketing, customer service or finance.

    text spinning

    Text spinning or article spinning is a technique aimed at changing a text to make it more appealing to a specific target audience. It involves replacing words, changing sentence structures, and inserting new words. The actual content of the text remains unchanged. This is relevant, for example, when creating new texts for search engine marketing (SEM), especially for search engine optimization (SEO or search engine marketing).

    training

    While training, a model learns from examples. Based on the examples, the model tries to predict an outcome (for example, filling in a cloze correctly) and compares its results with the real values at the end of each cycle. If the result is wrong, the underlying statistical model is adjusted and a new attempt is started. Usually, a training runs until the statistical model hardly changes anymore, i.e. the results become stable. This can be the case after a few minutes (classic machine learning) or weeks/months (deep learning on very large data sets).

    training corpus

    A corpus used for training a model.

• en
  • de
  • Public Offering

    Lexikon

    Hier finden Sie ein Lexikon zu dem Thema Künstliche Intelligenz.
    Es wird nach und nach ergänzt, um Sie durch den Dschungel der Begrifflichkeiten zu lotsen.

    AI

    Artificial Intelligence steht für die Beschreibung der eingesetzten Technologien (siehe Machine Learning). Der Begriff “AI” ist vorrangig ein Marketing-Begriff. Die per Machine Learning erzeugten Modelle sind nicht tatsächlich “intelligent”, sondern lösen mit komplexen statistischen Berechnungen eng eingegrenzte Probleme.

    Annotation, annotieren

    Eine Annotation ist eine kurze Notiz oder ein Kommentar, der zu einem Text, einem Bild oder einem anderen Dokument hinzugefügt wird. In der Linguistik ist dies zumeist manuelles Herausarbeiten bestimmter Merkmale natürlicher Sprache in Texten. Beispiel: Bestimmung des Genders von Eigennamen, indem einzelne Namen in Texten mit Labels wie “weiblich”, “divers”, “neutral” etc. markiert werden.

    Automatisierte Texterstellung

    Software zur automatischen Texterstellung wird immer häufiger eingesetzt, um Inhalte für Websites und andere Online-Anwendungen zu erstellen. Diese Software verwendet häufig eine Kombination aus maschinellem Lernen und linguistischen Algorithmen, um Texte zu erstellen, die einem bestimmten Muster oder einer Vorlage entsprechen. Dazu sind strukturierte Daten notwendig.

    Clustering

    Das Gruppieren von Daten: Daten innerhalb einer Gruppe sollen dabei ähnlich zueinander sein, Daten in verschiedenen Gruppen sollen sich unterscheiden. Eine solche Gruppe nennt man Cluster. Beispiel: Eine Menge internationaler Fußballvereine kann man nach ihrer Zugehörigkeit zu einer nationalen Liga clustern.

    Computerlinguistik

    Computer-Linguistik ist die Schnittstelle zwischen Informatik und Sprachwissenschaft. Natürliche Sprachen (sowohl Text als auch Audio) sollen mit Hilfe von Computern verarbeitet werden, wie zum Beispiel die Spracherkennung und -synthese, maschinelle Übersetzung und Dialogsysteme.

    Contentmarketing

    Content-Marketing ist ein strategischer Ansatz zur Erstellung und Verbreitung von wertvollen und relevanten Inhalten, die Nutzer anziehen und binden sollen. Das Ziel ist es, neue Internetnutzer zu generieren und bestehende User zu halten. Damit ist Content Marketing ein Instrument zur Trafficsteigerung. Die Inhalte können in verschiedenen Formaten vorliegen, z.B. in Form von Blog-Artikeln auf der eigenen Webseite, in Videos, Podcasts oder Infografiken.

    Crawler

    Ein Crawler ist ein Programm, das Daten von einer Internetseite extrahiert und diese in eine Datenbank schreibt.

    Dashboard

    Interaktive Visualisierung von Daten. Beispiel: Der Nutzer kann den Zeitraum der dargestellten Daten verändern oder in ein Diagramm zoomen, um etwas detaillierter zu betrachten.

    Data-Mining

    Data-Mining bezeichnet das computergestützte Auswerten und Analysieren großer Datenmengen mit dem Ziel, neue Erkenntnisse zu gewinnen. Dabei werden automatisierte Verfahren zur Mustererkennung, Methoden aus dem Bereich der Künstlichen Intelligenz, der Statistik und der Datenanalyse eingesetzt.

    Deep Learning

    Deep Learning ist ein Verfahren des Machine Learning (ML), das auf künstlichen neuronalen Netzen basiert. Die Deep Learning-Algorithmen verwenden mehrere Schichten (daher der Name), um Informationen zu verarbeiten und zu analysieren. 

    Deep Learning hat in sehr vielen Bereichen die Ergebnisse des Machine Learnings stark verbessert, es ist dafür allerdings auch deutlich ressourcenintensiver als ML-Methoden die nicht ‚deep‘ sind, also neuronale Netze mit nur einem Layer, oder andere Algorithmen die ganz ohne neuronale Netze auskommen.

    Entitätenextraktion

    Die Entitätenextraktion oder Entitätserkennung ist ein Prozess, bei dem aus unstrukturierten oder halbstrukturierten digitalen Daten einzelne, eindeutig identifizierbare Entitäten wie Personen, Orte, Dinge, Begriffe usw. extrahiert und in einem maschinenlesbaren Format gespeichert werden.

    GPT-2

    Gängiges Modell (pretrained) zur Textgenerierung entwickelt von OpenAI. GPT-2 ist Open Source.

    GPT-3

    Weiterentwicklung von GPT-2 (siehe oben). Beide Modelle benutzen in etwa die gleiche Architektur, GPT-3 hat jedoch mehr Schichten (s. Neuronales Netz) und wurde mit mehr Daten trainiert.

    GPU

    Graphics Processing Unit / Grafikkarte. Grafikkarten bieten eine sehr hohe Rechenleistung und werden daher für das Training von Deep Learning Modellen eingesetzt.

    Klassifizierung, Klassifikation

    Mit Klassifikation wird die Aufgabe beschrieben, ein Datenobjekt einer von mehreren vorher definierten Klassen zuzuordnen. Beispiel: Einen Text anhand des Inhalts einem Genre zuordnen.

    Korpus (Sg.), Korpora (Pl.)

    Eine Textsammlung, die in der Regel einen inhaltlichen oder strukturellen Zusammenhang hat. Ein Korpus kann beispielsweise aus Texten aus einer Quelle bestehen.

    Künstliche Intelligenz

    Künstliche Intelligenz bezeichnet in der Informatik ein Verfahren, das es ermöglicht, maschinelle Lernverfahren und Algorithmen einzusetzen, um komplexe Aufgaben zu lösen und der sich mit dem Versuch beschäftigt, Maschinen so zu programmieren, dass sie menschenähnliche Fähigkeiten erwerben können.

    Machine Learning

    Machine Learning bezeichnet ein Verfahren, bei dem Computer selbstständig lernen, ohne dass sie dafür für jeden Anwendungsfall programmiert wurden. Es sind Technologien, bei denen Computerprogramme eine große Menge an Beispielen verarbeiten, aus ihnen Muster ableiten und diese auf neue Datenpunkte anwenden. Dabei wird aus den Beispielen ein statistisches Modell aufgebaut, zum Beispiel zum Aufbau von Sprache. Deep Learning ist eine Variante von Machine Learning. AI ist ein Buzzword für Machine Learning.

    Metrik

    Vordefinierter Messwert zur Angabe von Qualität in Bezug auf ein bestimmtes Kriterium.

    Modell-Architektur

    Die Abfolge aller Verfahren, die genutzt werden, um das Modell aufzubauen. Neuronale Netze werden in der Regel über die Anzahl und Funktion ihrer Schichten beschrieben. Ein Modell entsteht aus der Kombination aus Architektur und Korpus.

    Modell, statistisches

    Ein statistisches Modell macht anhand erlernter Muster Vorhersagen über eingegebene Daten. Sprachmodelle zum Beispiel sagen das nächste Wort eines Eingabesatzes hervor. Ein Modell hat eine Architektur und muss zum Aufbau des statistischen Modells trainiert werden.

    Morphologie

    Morphologie bedeutet Formenlehre und ist ein Teilgebiet der Linguistik. Es handelt sich um die Wissenschaft von der Veränderung der Wortformen in einer Sprache. Wörter sind keine festen Gebilde und können sich in ihrer Form verändern. Je nach Kontext wird z. B. aus schreiben schreibst oder aus laufen läuft.

    Named Entity Recognition (NER)

    Das automatische Entdecken und Kennzeichnen von Eigennamen (Entitäten) in Texten. Beispiel: Mit Angela Merkel und Frau Merkel ist in zwei Sätzen die gleiche Person gemeint.

    Natural Language Generation (NLG)

    Natural Language Generation. Die Erzeugung von Text (natürlicher Sprache) mit Hilfe von Machine Learning.

    Natural Language Processing (NLP)

    Natural Language Processing beschäftigt sich mit der automatischen Verarbeitung natürlicher Sprache. Dabei werden Methoden der Computerlinguistik, der künstlichen Intelligenz und der Statistik angewendet, um Sprache zu erkennen, zu verstehen, zu interpretieren und zu generieren. Diese Erkenntnisse können dann genutzt werden, um zum Beispiel Texte zu übersetzen oder sinngemäß umzuschreiben.

    Natural Language Understanding (NLU)

    Natural Language Understanding beschreibt die Fähigkeit von Maschinen, die natürliche Sprache zu verstehen. Dies umfasst sowohl das Lesen als auch das Schreiben von natürlicher Sprache und die Analyse von Bedeutung und Kontext.

    Neuronale Netze

    Neuronale Netze sind Modelle für künstliche Intelligenz, die dem menschlichen Gehirn nachempfunden sind. Sie bestehen aus einer Reihe von Verarbeitungseinheiten, die miteinander verbunden sind.

    Ein künstliches neuronales Netz besteht aus Schichten von miteinander vernetzten Einheiten (Neuronen), die unter bestimmten Bedingungen Informationen aneinander weitergeben. Jede Einheit verarbeitet ein bestimmtes Signal und leitet es an die nächste Einheit weiter. Das Netzwerk lernt, indem es Signale verarbeitet und die Verbindungen zwischen den Einheiten anpasst.

    Beim Deep Learning gibt es in der Regel viele solcher Schichten mit je sehr vielen Neuronen, was das Training sehr rechenintensiv macht.

    Normalisierung

    Die Normalisierung von Texten beschreibt die Vereinheitlichung von Textstruktur und Interpunktion. Beispielsweise werden alle Anführungszeichen und Gedankenstriche auf je ein Zeichen normalisiert, ebenso Abschnittsmarker wie Linien oder Marker für Kapitelüberschriften.

    Ontologie

    In der Informatik wird Ontologie als Formalisierung eines Wissensgebiets bezeichnet, um komplexe Sachverhalte in einer maschinenlesbaren Form zu beschreiben. Dabei wird eine bestimmte Struktur von Objekten und ihren Beziehungen festgelegt, so dass eine Computersoftware diese verarbeiten kann. Ontologien werden in der Informatik vor allem für semantische Verfahren eingesetzt. Hierbei wird versucht, mit Hilfe von maschinellen Lernverfahren aus einem unstrukturierten Datenbestand Wissen zu extrahieren und zu modellieren. Auf diese Weise können dann beispielsweise auch komplexe Anfragen an einen Datenbestand gestellt werden.

    Preprocessing

    Bevor ein Korpus für das Training der AI übergeben werden kann, müssen einige Vorverarbeitungsschritte ausgeführt werden. Unerwünschte Inhalte zum Beispiel werden entfernt, Normalisierungen ausgeführt und die Texte an Modellspezifika angepasst. Wenn ein Modell im Pretraining zum Beispiel nur eine Art Anführungszeichen kennengelernt hat, sollten diese Anführungszeichen im Trainingskorpus für das Finetuning die gleichen sein, damit sie sofort richtig erkannt werden.

    Pretraining, Pretrained model

    Das initiale Training eines Modells. Beim Pretraining werden sehr große Datenmengen übergeben, um ein robustes statistisches Modell von Sprache und Wissen aufzubauen.

    Recommender Systems

    Ein Modell, das basierend auf dem Nutzerverhalten ähnlicher User weitere Objekte vorschlägt. Beispiel: „Nutzer, die diesen Artikel angesehen haben, haben auch folgende andere Artikel gelesen…“

    Roboterjournalismus

    Roboterjournalismus ist eine Form des Journalismus, bei der computergesteuerte Programme verwendet werden, um journalistische Inhalte zu erstellen. Diese Inhalte können Nachrichtenberichte, sportliche Ergebnisse, Wetterberichte, Finanzberichte, Börsenberichte und andere Formen des Journalismus umfassen.

    Sprachmodell

    Sprachmodelle gibt es für alle Bereiche der Computerlinguistik. Neben der Textgenerierung sind dies zum Beispiel Spracherkennung, Erkennung von Handschriften, Informationserkennung und -extraktion.

    Suchmaschinenmarketing

    Suchmaschinenmarketing (SEM – Search Engine Marketing) ist eine der wichtigsten Gattungen im Online-Marketing. Es kann unterteilt werden in Suchmaschinen-Advertising (SEA). Hier bezahlen Werbekunden dafür, dass die eigene Webseite oberhalb anderer Webseiten gelistet wird. Diese bezahlte Werbung wird z.B. auf Google in speziellen Bereichen auf der Suchergebnisseite (SERP – Search Engine Result Page) angezeigt und als solche gekennzeichnet. Eine andere Methode ist die Suchmaschinenoptimierung (SEO oder Search Engine Optimization). Hier wird versucht, die eigene Internetpräsenz in den organischen Suchergebnissen möglichst weit oben angezeigt zu bekommen.

    Testeintrag

    Das ist ein Texteintrag

    Text Mining

    Unter Text-Mining wird Data-Mining speziell für geschriebene Daten in natürlicher Sprache verstanden. Der Text Mining Prozess beinhaltet die Verwendung von Algorithmen und Methoden, um aus unstrukturierten oder halb strukturierten Textdaten wertvolle Informationen zu extrahieren, neue Muster zu erkennen, bestehende Muster zu bestätigen oder Vorhersagen zu treffen. Die gewonnenen Erkenntnisse können in vielen Bereichen, wie der Wissenschaft, dem Marketing, dem Kundenservice oder der Finanzwelt, eingesetzt werden.

    Text Spinning

    Text Spinning oder Article Spinning ist eine Technik, die darauf abzielt, einen Text so zu verändern, dass er für eine bestimmte Zielgruppe ansprechender wird. Dabei werden Wörter ersetzt, Satzstrukturen verändert und neue Wörter eingefügt. Der eigentliche Inhalt des Textes bleibt dabei unverändert. Relevant ist dies zum Beispiel für die Erstellung neuer Texte für das Suchmaschinenmarketing (SEM), speziell für die Suchmaschinen-Optimierung (SEO oder Search Engine Marketing).

    Training

    Beim Training lernt ein Modell aus Beispielen. Anhand der Beispiele versucht das Modell, ein Ergebnis vorherzusagen (beispielsweise einen Lückentext korrekt zu füllen) und gleicht am Ende jedes Zyklus seine Ergebnisse mit den echten Werten ab. Wenn das Ergebnis falsch ist, wird das zugrunde liegende statistische Modell angepasst und ein neuer Versuch gestartet. In der Regel läuft ein Training so lange, bis sich das statistische Modell kaum mehr ändert, die Ergebnisse also stabil werden. Dies kann nach wenigen Minuten (klassisches Machine Learning) oder Wochen/Monaten (Deep Learning auf sehr großen Datenmengen) der Fall sein.

    Trainingskorpus

    Ein Korpus, das für das Training eines Modells eingesetzt wird.

    Vorverarbeitung

    S. Preprocessing